MenuSearch

Have You Updated Your Facebook Privacy Recently? A Quick Guide To Keeping Your Posts Private…

May 22nd 2014
By: Melanie

Keeping your Facebook page private is becoming harder and harder, as Facebook keep tweeking elements in the security settings, so you need to make sure that you keep on top of them.

On the top right hand side of your Facebook page you will see a padlock symbol, click on this and scroll down to See More Settings – a new page will appear, and you can see a summary of your account. This default page is the privacy page and includes:

Who can see my stuff?

Go down to this line: “ Limit the audience for posts shared with friends or public?” If you click on limit past post this will stop the public from being able to see you timeline.

If you want to check what people and public can see go to Timeline and Tagging on the left hand side of the screen and then where it says “Who can see things on my time line? Under this click on “See what people can see on-line” and then press view as and this will show you what the public can see on your timeline.

Who can contact me?

This will enable you to control who can contact you.

Who can look me up?

If you don't want search engines to filter through your information on line you will need to add NO to the question: 'Do you want search engines to link to your timeline?'

Now take a look at the left hand-side of this page you will see a button called Timeline and Tagging – this is a really useful page. If you are fed up with being tagged in other people’s timelines you can change this setting so that you approve the photos you are tagged in before they are posted to your friends.

For most of the questions you will probably need to make sure that most of them are set on Friends. For each status update you can also select who sees it, and you have a choice of friends or everyone.

When posting photos on Facebook from a mobile make sure that you have the GPS settings turned off, otherwise people will be able to download software to see exactly where the photo was taken.

Our advice would be to spend some time going through the security facilities on your account to make sure that it is set up how you would like it.